Reiser and Cowan in Top Posts for 1967-68 Mrs. Crauer First Woman Elected to Governing Board

RAYMOND REISER has been officially declared President of The American Oil Chemists' Society for the year

Representatives of the Nominating and Election Com-



Raymond Reiser President

mittee, J. G. Endres, F. A. Norris (representing W. C. Pritchett) and J. C. Harris, Committee chairman, met on April 24th at AOCS head-quarters in Chicago to witness and certify the results of the balloting.

Dr. Reiser has invested a lifetime of teaching and research to the advancement of the fats and oils sciences, and has distinguished himself in this field. He has devoted 21 years to the which serves is and his election to the the Society rofession, dency is a appropriate mination of his work.

He is Professor of Biochemistry and Nutrition, A&M University, College Station Texas. As a trib his service on the University staff, he was awarded in the Texas A&M Faculty Distinguished Service Ax this is one of many honors received over the year contending work in his closest field vard; rs for

outstanding work in his closer field.

In his Society work, he has served in many capachi and his titles begin with his assignment as Ar ockte Edit of JAOCS in 1957, and include many additional assignments. He was previously on the Governing Board 1962–63, and 1965–66.

J. C. Cowan, the incoming Vice-President, is Chief, Oilseeds Laboratory, Northern Regional Research Laboratory, Peoria, Ill. During his years with USDA, he has been honored with the US Department of Agriculture Superior Service Award, and with the Superior Service Team Award. Dr. Cowan has been Associate Editor of JAOCS since 1955, and received the North Central Section's Alton E. Bailey Award in 1961 for his work in the production of acceptable edible soya oil.

The new Secretary, G. C. Cavanagh, is Chief Chemist and Research Director of Ranchers' Cotton Oil Co., Fresno, Calif. Mr. Cavanagh has been affiliated with this company since 1951 and has been an AOCS member since 1946, serving in many capacities.

N. T. Joyner, Treasurer 1967-68, is Executive Vice-President of Votator Division, Chemetron Corporation, Louisville, Ky. He became a member of AOCS in 1932,



J. C. Cowan Vice-President



G. C. Cavanagh

and his most recent assignment for the group has been on the Publicity Committee, beginning in 1965.

The three members-at-large elected to the Governing Board are S. S. Chang, Mrs. Louis Crauer and R. T. O'Connor.

Dr. Chang, Professor of Food Chemistry, Rutgers, The State University, is beginning his second term on the Governing Board. He has served on many AOCS committees, and has recently held office in the Northeast Section, AOCS as vice-president and then as president of the Section.

Mrs. Lois Crauer has set a precedent in becoming the first woman in AOCS history to serve on the Governing loard. She will serve as member-at-large for the year 967-68. Recently she has been quite active as co-chairman

1967-68. Recently she has been quite active as co-chairman of the 1966 Michigan State Short Course, and as Progressiv Coordinator of the 1967 Monterrey Short Course. Mrs. Crauer Chief Chemist, DeLaval Separator Company, houghkeepsie, N.Y.

A veterin member of AOCS, R. T. O'Connor, of the Southern Regional Laroratories, has also been elected to the Governing Board as Member-at-Large. He has been vitally active in Society as an Associate Editor of JAOCS since 1954.

The four most recent part presidents will serve on the AOCS Governing Board. They are C. W. Hoerr (1966), J. V. Harris (1965), R. C. Staman (1964) and W. O. Lundberg (1963).

Announcement and installation of the new officers took place at the 58th Annual Meeting in New Orleans, May



N. T. Joyner Treasurer



S. S. Chang Member-at-Large



R. T. O'Connor Member-at-Large



Mrs. Lois Crauer Member-at-Large